The Commissioners

  • Anne Elizabeth Owuor

    Anne Elizabeth Owuor was nominated by the Association of Professional Societies of East Africa (APSEA) and appointed a Member of the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) on 17th December 2012 by the President of the Republic of Kenya. She has Masters in Science in Audit Management & Consultancy from University of Central England Birmingham, a Masters in Business Administration, a Post Graduate Diploma in Audit Management & Consultancy – University of Central England Birmingham and is currently pursuing a doctorate in Commerce-UNISA. She is currently employed by Kenya Power Company Limited and has worked there since 1990, holding various managerial positions since 1997, including, Chief Accountant, Internal Audit Manager and Debt Control Manager & Gender Coordinator. Previously she worked in the Office of the President and Public Service Commission from 1984-1990.

  • Brig Samuel N. Kirugi

    Brig Samuel N. Kirugi was nominated to the Commission by the Defence Council, Kenya Defence Forces. He holds the degrees of B. Ed Hons and MA of the University of Nairobi. He retired from the former Kenya Armed Forces (now KDF) in January 2004 after twenty five years of service having gained wide experience in command, training, logistics and human resources administration for which he was awarded the Moran of Burning Spear (MBS) in 1994. Since retirement he worked with the Armed Forces Pay Review Board (AFRPRB) until he was nominated to the SRC in January 2012

  • Daniel Omondi Ogutu

    Ogutu is the Vice Chairperson of Salaries and Remunerations Commission and holds a Masters Degree from University of Eastern and Southern Africa Management Institute and Maasterich School of Management in Business Administration (MBA) and Bachelors Degree in Education from Kenyatta University. He has over twenty years of working experience in Human Resource Management and Development. He is currently an Assistant Commission Secretary-Human Resource Management at Commission for University Education. He has a wealth of experience having worked with the Commission for Higher education (CHE), Agricultural Finance Corporation (AFC), Ministry of State for Public Service, Ministry of State for Provincial Administration and Internal Security, Directorate of Personnel Management (DPM), and Teachers Service Commission.

  • Hon. Peter Oloo Aringo

    Hon. Peter Oloo Aringo holds a Masters Degree from University of Toronto, Canada. He also served as a Cabinet Minister in the following Ministries:-

    Information and Broadcasting, 1980 – 1982.
    Environment and Natural Resources – 1982.
    Ministry of Labour, 1985 – 1986.
    Ministry of Education, 1986 – 1991.
    Ministry of Manpower Development 1991, and
    An Assistant Minister for Education in 1979 – 1980.

    He initiated several parliamentary reform programs between the year 2000 and 2007. Served six terms of 35 years as a Member of the National Assembly in the Parliament of Kenya: 1974 -1979; 1979 – 1983; 1983 – 1988; 1988 – 1992; 1997 – 2002; 2003 – 2007

  • Isaiah Kubai

    Isaiah Kubai holds a Bachelor of Law (LLB HONS) from University of Nairobi. He worked as a Banker from 1972 to 1986 and served as a General Secretary of Banking, Insurance & Finance Union (K). He is an endowed resource person in para-legal training of labour leaders.

  • Jacqueline Mugo

    Jacqueline Mugo holds Bachelor of Law (LLB, Hons), from University of Nairobi. She is the Executive Director/ Chief Executive, Federation of Kenya Employers. She was admitted as an advocate of the High Court on 21st February 1983. She was, awarded with the Honours of Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya, (OGW) on 12th December, 2008.

  • Jason Nambalu Namasake

    Jason Namasake holds a Bachelor of Law Degree (LLB. Hons) from the University of Dar es salam and a Masters (LLM.) from the University of London. He is an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya and has been a lecturer at the University of Nairobi – 1974 – 1980 and the Catholic University of Eastern Africa from 2007. Previously, Namasake worked at the Federation of Kenya Employers for twenty six years, where he served among other things in the Task Force to review Labour Laws the year 2000. He also served as a member of the Akiwumi Tribunal to review terms and conditions of service for Members of Parliament and staff of the National Assembly in 2009.

  • Sarah Jepkemboi Chumo Serem (EBS)

    Mrs. Sarah Jepkemboi Chumo Serem is the Chairperson of the Salaries and Remuneration Commission having been appointed in December 2011 for a period of six years.
    Prior to her appointment, Mrs. Serem worked at Kenya Post Office Savings Bank for over 20 years as Head of HR and currently serves as a council member of University of Eastern Africa, Baraton. She also serves in the Board of Adventist Development and Relief Agency (ADRA) International, which is one of the leading humanitarian agencies that operate in 125 countries.

    As a philanthropist, Mrs. Serem believes in empowering young people to realize their God given potential and has helped many needy children to access education. One of the projects she is involved is the development of Kajiado Rehabilitation Centre in which she is a founding member and served as the first chairperson. This is a rescue centre for the girl child.
    Mrs. Serem holds an MBA in Human Resource Management and a Bachelor of Arts Degree (Sociology& Political Science), both from the University of Nairobi.

  • Sellestine Kiuluku

    Sellestine Kiuluku holds a Masters in Business Administration - Strategic Management from ESAMI and Maastricht School of Management – Netherlands. She further holds a BED degree from Kenyatta University and CPS. She is the Director Human Resources and Administration with the IEBC. Prior to the above appointments she served as the Director Human Resources and Administrative services with the Nairobi Water Company. Mrs. Kiuluku also worked as the Chief Human Resources and Administration Manager with the National Water Conservation and Pipeline Corporation (NWCPC). Previously she served the National Museums of Kenya (NMK) as Principal Administrative Officer and as a Personnel Officer with Agricultural Development Corporation (ADC).

    Mrs. Kiuluku has a wealth of experience and competency in Human Resources Management, Industrial Relations, Performance Management and Strategic Planning.

  • Serah N. Kinyua

    Serah Kinyua holds a Masters Degree from University Connecticut U.S.A. in Public Administration (MPA) and Bachelors Degree in Literature in English, Political Science and Philosophy at Makerere University in Uganda. She served as a Chief Human Resource Manager at the Teachers Service Commission between 1997 and 2002. She served at the Task force Reviewing Labour Laws representing Teaching Service.

  • The Commissioners


    Mrs. Sarah J.C Serem, EBS -  Chair Person
    Mrs. Sarah J.C Serem, EBS - Chair Person
    Daniel Omondi Ogutu  Ann Elizabeth Owuor  Isaiah Kubai
     Read More  Read More  Read More
    Hon. Peter Oloo Aringo Jacqueline Mugo Jason Nambalu Namasake
     Read More  Read More  Read More
    Serah N. Kinyua Brig (Rtd) Samuel Ndururi Kirugi MBS Sellistine Kiuluku
     Read More  Read More  Read More
    James Muhoro Dr. Kamau Thugge Njee Muturi
    Read more Read more Read more

Our Polls

Do you support the State Officers’ remuneration and benefits review to be implemented after the August 2017 general elections?


Salaries & Remuneration Commission,
Williamson House 6th Floor,
P.O. Box 43126 - 00100 Nairobi, Kenya.
Phone: +254 (20) 2710065/81,

Stay Connected

Go to top